Rainy day with Museum of London and St Pauls

It has been raining the whole day today so I have finally had some use for my red umbrella. :)
Anna and I have been to the Bank district and visiting Museum of London and St Pauls. The museum was really nice and we went for a free tour that was really good. The guide told us about the years between 1666-1850 called the new city. For you who don't know what happened in London 1666, I can tell you it was the great fire that year and it destroyed 2/3 of all buildings in the city. However, it was actually a good thing for the city because it was a bit old fashion. So when the rebuilt the city it became a city with the same modern standard like Paris and other top cities in Europe. The funny thing about it was the started to build pub first. Haha! So I guess London haven't changed that much after all.
After we went for some quick shopping and then to St Paul's cathedral. I really love that building, it so statuesque, beautiful and enormous. And inside it's just such a marvellous view, with the amazing ceiling and all the stunning decoration. We went there for an evensong and I really liked it. I always feel so peaceful when I'm leaving a mass. It's so relaxing just sitting there and listen to the priest when he speaking (in perfect english :P) or when the choral sings.
Later we took the tube home to Anna and did some more planning for our trip! :)
I got these sweeties from my host parents yesterday. Salt sill or lakrits fiskar that I will say in swedish is one of my favourite sweeties so became really happy! Thanks! :)
Time to go to bed now!
Good night
xoxox

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0